WashingtonExec yesterday unveiled the winners of the 2018 inaugural Pinnacle Awards at a luncheon at the Ritz Carlton Tysons Corner, shining a light on exemplary leadership in the GovCon industry.

The winners put federal IT buzz words du jour to the test by advancing important federal missions between 2017-2018 — all to the benefit of the American taxpayer. Each executive winner exemplifies true leadership, innovation and a drive to make the government more efficient and effective.

The judge’s committee received 150 nominations across 13 categories.

The awards ceremony, emceed by Dr. John Hillen, was different from other GovCon award ceremonies in that nominators were asked to describe the “why” and the “how” of an executive milestone and/or federal client project. The awards were not solely based on rewarding revenue generation, CEO only, or other arbitrary accolades. Judges Committee included Anne Altman, chairman of the board, Siemens Government Technologies, Tim Keenan, founder, Keenan & Associates, and Doug Wagoner, board member, Thomson Reuters.

Please also save the date for the annual K-12 STEM Symposium on March 30, 2019 at the Nysmith School. Find more information at www.stemsymposium.com.

A special thank you to the 2018 Pinnacle Awards sponsors
2018 Pinnacle Awards Winners
2018 Pinnacle Award Winner

Artificial Intelligence Executive of the Year

Melvin Greer, Intel

2018 Pinnacle Award Winner

Cybersecurity Executive of the Year

Tim Patterson, CACI

2018 Pinnacle Award Winner

Healthcare Executive of the Year

Kristine Martin Anderson, Booz Allen Hamilton

2018 Pinnacle Award Winner

STEM Advocate of the Year

Joyce Abbey, SAIC

2018 Pinnacle Award Winner

National Security Executive of the Year

Stephanie Mango, CGI

2018 Pinnacle Award Winner

General Manager of the Year

Sandy Gillespie, NCI

2018 Pinnacle Award Winner

Business Development Executive of the Year

RJ Kolton, DSA

2018 Pinnacle Award Winner

Hall of Fame Executive of The Year

Donna Morea, Board Member of SAIC and Suntrust

2018 Pinnacle Award Winner

Intelligence Executive of the Year

Rick Wagner, ManTech

Executive Assistant of the Year:


  • Monica Carter, Perspecta
  • Maria Cornell, CGI Federal
  • Stephanie Crawford, MAXIMUS
  • Tina Ferguson, ManTech International
  • Jessica Gomez Phillips, Engility Corp.

Executive Assistant of the Year:


  • Terra Baker, SOS International
  • Patrice Johnson, ASRC Federal
  • Linda Jones, LGS Innovations
  • Erin Miles, DMI
  • LaCresha Mirrielees, NTT DATA

IT Innovator of the Year (Government):

  • Jose Arrieta, Health and Human Services Department
  • Molly Cain, Homeland Security Department
  • Charlie Fields, Defense Information Systems Agency
  • Ryan Vega, Veterans Affairs Department
  • Gary Washington, Agriculture Department